🔍 Read the full analysis: Apple AI Update: Siri Remembers More As Its $1,999 iPhone Duo Cracks At The Hinge on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get hardware and tech essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
Apple’s iOS 27.2 update, released October 26, adds conversation recall and five languages to its still-beta Siri AI, along with controls over which apps it can access. Apple also acknowledged an inner-display issue affecting a small number of its $1,999 foldable iPhone Duo units; the cause and scale have not been established.
Apple’s iOS 27.2 update, released October 26, lets its still-beta Siri AI recall earlier conversations and adds five languages, while the company has acknowledged an inner-display issue affecting a small number of its $1,999 foldable iPhone Duo units. The update expands Apple’s AI features, but regional availability, daily usage limits and the extent of the reported hardware problem remain constraints.
According to Apple’s release notes, Siri AI can now refer back to previous exchanges, draw on more personal context such as voicemails and Calendar attendees, and use information including Safari history and the Reading List. A new Excluded Apps setting lets users control which apps Siri, Search and suggestions can access. Users can also select and copy part of a Siri response. Apple says Siri on Apple Watch now provides faster responses.
The language additions are French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish, alongside English. Apple says four more languages are due by the end of 2026. The features remain labeled beta and require an iPhone 15 Pro or any iPhone 16 or later. Apple says Siri AI is unavailable on iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch in the European Union and mainland China, and is not available to users under 13.
Separately, Apple confirmed an issue affecting the inner display on a small number of iPhone Duo units and says it is replacing affected devices through AppleCare. The source account describes the phone as priced at $1,999. A repair-analysis simulation by iFixit pointed to a possible stress hotspot near the hinge, but Apple has not confirmed that explanation. The number of affected phones, the failure rate and the cause have not been disclosed.
Siri’s New Memory Has Limits
Conversation recall makes Siri more useful for follow-up requests: a user can refer to a prior recommendation rather than restating the full question. Its ability to draw on personal information also makes Apple’s app-access controls relevant. The Excluded Apps setting offers a central way to limit access, but Apple has not published detailed usage limits or explained how those limits will vary for individual users.
Apple’s approach differs from rival AI services described in the source material as cloud-based agents. Siri is built into the operating system and combines on-device processing with Apple’s Private Cloud Compute for larger tasks. Apple says personal data sent to Private Cloud Compute is not stored or made accessible to Apple or others, and that outside experts can verify the system. Those are Apple’s stated privacy commitments, not independent findings presented here.
The Duo issue matters because a foldable phone’s inner display and hinge are central to its use, and a confirmed repair issue can affect buyer confidence even when the company describes the number of affected units as small. Apple has not provided figures that would allow readers to judge how often the problem occurs. The reported problem should not be taken as evidence that all Duo devices are affected.
Products Worth Considering

Apple MacBook Pro 2021 16‑inch with M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, Space Gray (QWERTY English)

Apple MacBook Pro 2023 14 with M3 Pro Chip, 18 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, Space Black

Apple MacBook Pro 14.2-inch with M5 Max, 18-Core CPU, 20-Core GPU, 48GB Memory, 2TB SSD, Space Black
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
From Siri Launch to iOS 27.2
Siri AI launched with iOS 27 on September 14 as an English-language beta. Apple described the redesigned assistant as able to use personal context and onscreen awareness and act across apps. The October 26 release is its first substantive update since launch, adding conversation recall, more personal-context features and additional languages.
Apple’s model arrangements are also part of the picture. In a joint statement on January 12, Apple and Google said the next generation of Apple Foundation Models would be based on Google’s Gemini models and cloud technology, while Apple Intelligence would continue to run on Apple devices and Private Cloud Compute. Reports about Google infrastructure handling some cloud capacity are not confirmed in the supplied material.
Apple says features relying on server-side models, including some Siri AI functions, are subject to daily usage limits that vary with the feature, request complexity and demand. The company has announced that expanded access will be available for a fee in the future, but has not disclosed the limits or the price.
“The next generation of Apple Foundation Models will be based on Google’s Gemini models and cloud technology.”
— Apple and Google, in a joint statement published January 12
Display Cause and AI Pricing
Apple has not said how many iPhone Duo units have the inner-display issue, what proportion of devices they represent, or what causes the problem. The hinge stress point described in an iFixit simulation is a possible explanation, not a confirmed diagnosis. Apple says affected units can be replaced through AppleCare, but the terms and scope of those replacements are not detailed in the supplied account.
For Siri AI, Apple’s daily limits, the price of expanded access and the timing of the four promised languages remain unknown. The service is still in beta, and availability restrictions exclude users in several markets, including the European Union and mainland China on the listed devices. The material does not establish when those regional limits may change.
Apple’s October 28 Event
Apple has confirmed a press event called “Pro and tell” for October 28. The supplied material does not confirm any products or announcements for the event; new Macs are described only as rumored. Apple has not said whether it will address the Duo display issue or provide further details on Siri AI during the event.
The next concrete milestones cited for other products are preorders for the new iPad mini beginning October 28 and deliveries starting November 6. Apple has promised four additional Siri languages by year-end, but has not named them or given release dates. Further details on the Duo repair response, Siri’s regional availability and any paid tier have not been announced.
Key Questions
What changed in Siri AI with iOS 27.2?
The update adds conversation recall, access to more personal context, a setting to exclude apps, and five languages: French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese and Spanish. Siri AI remains in beta.
Which devices and regions support the new Siri features?
The supplied source says Siri AI requires an iPhone 15 Pro or any iPhone 16 or later. It is unavailable on iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch in the European Union and mainland China, and is not available to users under 13. The source does not provide a complete device-by-device list for every new feature.
What is known about the iPhone Duo display issue?
Apple says an inner-display issue affects a small number of units and that it is replacing affected phones through AppleCare. The company has not disclosed the number of devices, a failure rate or a confirmed cause. The suggested hinge stress point is based on an iFixit simulation, not an Apple-confirmed finding.
Will expanded Siri AI access cost money?
Apple says expanded access to server-side features will be available for a fee in the future. It has not announced a price, launch date or specific usage limits.
What is Apple expected to announce next?
Apple has confirmed its “Pro and tell” event on October 28, but the supplied material does not confirm what will be announced. New Macs are rumored, not confirmed.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
