🔍 Read the full analysis: How The AI Boom Is Putting Electricians At The Center Of Data Centers on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get hardware and tech essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
AI data center expansion is increasing the need for power infrastructure, including transformers, batteries, grid connections and electrical installation. Deals by Vantage and NiSource show the scale of planned investment, but timelines, costs and effects on electricity bills remain uncertain.
AI data center expansion is bringing power infrastructure into sharper focus, with Vantage reserving more than a gigawatt of factory capacity for a new transformer and NiSource agreeing to supply Microsoft with about 1,100 megawatts of generation and a 600-megawatt battery. The projects point to growing work on the electrical systems that feed data centers, though the available information does not quantify how many electrician jobs they will create, as explored in building a data center home for 13 teams.
Vantage reserved the factory capacity on October 21 for a solid-state transformer designed to convert grid power directly into 800-volt direct current, according to the source material. The reservation is for manufacturing capacity; it does not by itself confirm how many units will be delivered, where they will be installed or when they will enter service.
On October 16, NiSource signed a 20-year power agreement with Microsoft that adds about 1,100 megawatts of generation and a 600-megawatt battery, the source says. Those figures describe the agreement’s planned power resources, not a count of construction jobs or a measure of how much electricity customers will receive at any given time.
The changes put electrical trades at the center of a demanding build-out: projects need grid connections, transformers, power distribution, battery systems and the wiring and controls that connect them. The source does not report specific hiring totals, contractors or electrician wage changes. It also identifies an October 26 Utility Dive article on DC data center systems as sponsored content by inverter maker SMA America, whose technical and performance figures should be read as vendor claims.
Infographic 01 · From grid to rack
AI racks near a megawatt are outgrowing the AC power chain.
Why the industry is moving to 800-volt direct current: fewer conversions, less copper, batteries on the main path. The numbers are vendor figures with different baselines, so they cannot be added up.
Today: many conversions
Typical AC chain from the grid to the rack
- Medium-voltage AC from the grid
- Transformer steps it down to low-voltage AC
- UPS converts to DC for the batteries and back to AC
- Distribution units feed the racks
- Every server power supply converts AC to DC again
Each stage loses energy, and almost all of the loss becomes heat the cooling system must remove.
800 V DC: convert once, outside
NVIDIA reference design, full-scale production planned with Kyber racks in 2027
- 13.8 kV AC from the grid
- Converted once to 800 V DC at the edge of the site, batteries on the same DC bus
- 800 V DC busway to the racks
- Stepped down inside the rack, for 1 MW racks and beyond
Bridge for existing halls: a “sidecar” cabinet next to the rack converts AC to 800 V DC, while the old chain stays in place.
Power lost per MW delivered to the rack
kW, SMA white-paper model vendor model
What NVIDIA says 800 V DC changes
NVIDIA’s engineering claims claim
Sources: NVIDIA technical blog (20 May 2025, updated 31 Jul 2025); SMA America, sponsored content in Utility Dive (26 Oct 2026). Rack density: IEA, Key Questions on Energy and AI (Apr 2026) (AI server power density 11× from 2020 to 2025, a further 4× by 2027).
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
Electrical Work Behind AI Capacity
Data centers cannot operate on computing equipment alone. They need a reliable path from the grid to server racks, and rising power requirements make that path larger and more technically demanding. That creates potential work for electricians and other electrical specialists installing and maintaining high-voltage equipment, distribution systems, batteries and controls. The source material establishes the infrastructure need, but not the size or local distribution of resulting employment.
The constraints are also important for project schedules. The International Energy Agency says transformers can take two to three years to arrive and grid connections can take five to ten years in many places. A project may have financing and computing equipment lined up yet remain delayed by the power systems and skilled labor needed to connect it. For communities, that can affect construction timelines and raise questions about who pays for new generation and transmission infrastructure.
Electricity costs are one point of public concern, but the cited figures do not prove that data centers caused a particular household’s bill to rise. The source reports an average US residential electricity price of 18.21 cents per kilowatt-hour in 2026, compared with 17.30 cents in 2025, and a 41% increase in wholesale prices in the PJM region. Those figures have distinct geographic and market contexts; responsibility for new plants and wires is determined through individual contracts and regulatory decisions.
Products Worth Considering

Trezor Safe 7 Crypto Hardware Wallet

Apple MacBook Pro 2023 14 with M3 Pro Chip, 18 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD, Space Black

Trezor Safe 5 Crypto Hardware Wallet with Color Touchscreen, Black Graphite
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
From Server Racks to Power Systems
Traditional data centers receive alternating-current power and convert it several times before servers use it as direct current. Each conversion loses some energy, much of which becomes heat. The older arrangement was designed for racks drawing tens of kilowatts; the source says AI systems are pushing rack demand toward much higher levels, changing the economics and physical space needed for power equipment.
The International Energy Agency’s April 2026 report says AI server power density rose 11-fold between 2020 and 2025 and is expected to quadruple again by 2027. It estimates a rack could then draw peak power comparable to 65 households. These are projections about peak demand, not a statement that a rack consumes as much electricity as 65 homes over a full year.
NVIDIA has proposed converting grid power to 800-volt DC near a facility’s perimeter and distributing it to high-power racks. Its reference design is intended for 1-megawatt racks from 2027. NVIDIA claims the system could use 45% less copper and provide up to 5% better end-to-end efficiency than current 54-volt systems. Those are company figures, not independently verified measurements. The source also cites an IEA estimate that global data center electricity use could rise from 485 terawatt-hours in 2025 to 950 terawatt-hours in 2030.
Battery storage is part of the same shift because AI workloads can change power demand rapidly. The IEA estimates that data centers could have 20–25 gigawatts of batteries by 2030, potentially helping the grid if incentives support that role. Storage can also help a site manage short-term swings, but its performance and financial value depend on the system design and local power arrangements.
“The company says its design can move 85% more power through the same conductor size.”
— NVIDIA, in its 800 VDC technical blog
Jobs, Costs and Delivery Dates
The source does not provide job totals, hiring plans or project-level construction schedules for either the Vantage reservation or the NiSource-Microsoft agreement. It is also unclear how much of the planned electrical work will be performed by electricians directly employed by operators, by utilities or by outside contractors.
Vantage’s factory-capacity reservation does not confirm delivery or installation. The NiSource agreement gives a term and resource figures, but the source does not specify when the added generation and battery will be available, how the costs will be allocated or what effect the agreement will have on local electricity rates.
Performance figures for 800-volt systems also require care. NVIDIA’s copper, efficiency and maintenance numbers are company claims, while the cited SMA model comes from sponsored content. Independent operating data comparing the designs at full scale are not provided. The source’s national and regional electricity-price figures likewise do not establish that data center construction caused those changes.
Projects Must Clear Grid Bottlenecks
The immediate next steps are delivery and deployment of the equipment reserved for data center projects, development of the generation and battery resources covered by the NiSource agreement, and the securing of grid connections. Those milestones will show whether announced capacity becomes operational infrastructure and on what schedule.
Operators and utilities will also need to decide whether new facilities use 800-volt DC distribution, retain conventional AC designs or adopt intermediate approaches such as conversion equipment beside existing racks. Independent performance data, project hiring disclosures and details about who pays for new power infrastructure would help clarify the effects on workers and electricity customers. The source material does not give dates for those disclosures or milestones.
Key Questions
What did Vantage announce?
Vantage reserved more than one gigawatt of factory capacity for a solid-state transformer intended to convert grid power directly to 800-volt direct current. The reservation does not confirm delivery or installation dates.
What is included in the NiSource-Microsoft agreement?
The 20-year agreement, signed October 16, includes about 1,100 megawatts of generation and a 600-megawatt battery, according to the source material. The source does not specify when those resources will be operating.
Why are electricians relevant to AI data centers?
Data centers require extensive electrical infrastructure, including grid connections, transformers, distribution equipment, batteries and controls. The developments point to that work growing, but the source provides no electrician hiring totals.
Are the efficiency claims for 800-volt systems independently verified?
No independent measurements are included in the source. NVIDIA’s figures are vendor claims, and the cited Utility Dive article is sponsored content from SMA America.
Will AI data centers raise household electricity bills?
The source reports changes in average US residential prices and PJM wholesale prices, but it does not establish that data centers caused those changes. The cost of new generation and wires is handled through individual contracts and regulatory decisions.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
