OpenAI Updates ChatGPT Pro: Higher Limits, No Pro 200 Cut
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: OpenAI Updates ChatGPT Pro: Higher Limits, No Pro 200 Cut on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get hardware and tech essentials delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

OpenAI raised ChatGPT Work and Codex allowances for Pro 100 and Pro 500 subscribers and cancelled a planned reduction to the $200 Pro plan. Pro 200’s lower allowance was brought up to the higher allowance, while other limits and plan prices mostly remain unchanged.

OpenAI raised ChatGPT Work and Codex allowances for its $100 Pro 100 and $500 Pro 500 plans on October 29, and cancelled a planned cut to the $200 Pro 200 plan one day before it was due to take effect. The change gives Pro 200 subscribers who had the lower allowance the higher level, while subscribers already receiving that level keep it, according to OpenAI’s updated help page.

OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now have twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. Those services share a usage allowance, so the increase applies to their combined pool rather than creating a separate quota for each. OpenAI’s updated Pro help page says existing subscribers receive the revised allowance automatically, without waiting for their next renewal.

For Pro 200, OpenAI cancelled the reduction that had been announced in a September 29 email. The help page says subscribers on the lower allowance now receive the higher one; those who already had the higher allowance keep it. OpenAI’s earlier scale described the higher Work and Codex allowance as 20 times the Plus allowance and the planned lower level as 10 times Plus.

The increase does not apply to every ChatGPT limit. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged, as are the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500. The lower weekly GPT-6 Pro limit on Pro 200 now matches its higher limit. Ultrafast mode remains exclusive to Pro 500, and OpenAI’s notes say Dots agents keep extended limits for now, counted separately.

At a glance
updateWhen: Announced October 29, 2026; changes app…
The developmentOpenAI updated its ChatGPT plan allowances on October 29, raising Work and Codex usage on several paid tiers and cancelling a planned Pro 200 cut.
Thorsten Meyer AI
ChatGPT plans

Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026

What each ChatGPT plan gets now.

OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.

2×Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500
20×Plus on Pro 200 again, for everyone (my arithmetic, OpenAI’s Sept scale)
$0price changes on any plan
1Pro plan with Ultrafast: Pro 500

Pro 100$100 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • No Ultrafast

Pro 200$200 / month

Cut cancelledRestored
  • Higher allowance: you keep it
  • Lower allowance: doubled to match
  • Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one

Pro 500$500 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • Only Pro plan with Ultrafast

Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat

Moreno factor publishedIncreased
  • Release note: usage “increasing”
  • Tibo’s post: “doubling”
  • No five-hour limit

Plus$20 / month

SameUnchanged
  • “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)

Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free

—Not mentioned
  • Not part of the 29 Oct notes

What “Work and Codex” means

  • ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
  • Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
  • Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan

What did not double

  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
  • Plus usage, and every price
  • Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately

Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers

Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

How the Plan Changes Affect Subscribers

The reversal matters to people who had planned their workloads around the announced October 30 Pro 200 reduction. That cut will not take effect, and affected subscribers receive the higher allowance automatically. The decision also changes the amount of Work and Codex usage available on Pro 100 and Pro 500 without changing their monthly prices, according to the source material.

For businesses, the revised allowance may affect which seats employees need for longer research tasks, documents and coding work. However, the change is specific to Work and Codex usage; it does not mean every model, feature or chat limit has doubled. The distinction matters when comparing plans or estimating capacity. OpenAI also says actual usage varies with the model, task and speed mode, so a larger allowance does not translate into a fixed amount of additional work.

The announcement also shows that paid-plan allowances can change after customers have subscribed. Readers and organizations making decisions based on quotas should check the current plan details and usage page, rather than assuming that one headline describes every limit or that a published allowance will remain fixed.

Products Worth Considering

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

Logitech MX Mechanical Full-Size Wireless Mechanical Keyboard, Tactile Quiet Switches, Backlit Keys, Bluetooth, USB-C, Multi-Device, Graphit

Logitech MX Mechanical Full-Size Wireless Mechanical Keyboard, Tactile Quiet Switches, Backlit Keys, Bluetooth, USB-C, Multi-Device, Graphit

Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch Laptop with M5 Pro chip, 18-core CPU, 20-core GPU, 24GB Unified Memory, 2TB SSD, Wi‑Fi 7 – Space Black

Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch Laptop with M5 Pro chip, 18-core CPU, 20-core GPU, 24GB Unified Memory, 2TB SSD, Wi‑Fi 7 – Space Black

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

From September Cut to October Reversal

The change follows a series of adjustments to OpenAI’s higher-priced plans. On September 10, the company paused new sign-ups for the $200 Pro plan. TechCrunch reported that Thibault Sottiaux, an OpenAI product lead who posts as Tibo, attributed the pause to demand for the company’s GPT-6 Astra model.

OpenAI reopened Pro 200 on September 29 and introduced a $500 Pro tier. The company’s accompanying notice said included usage allowances were changing, while the monthly Pro 200 price remained $200. A September email told affected users that the Pro 200 allowance would be reduced starting October 30. On October 29, OpenAI withdrew that reduction and announced higher Work and Codex allowances for Pro 100 and Pro 500.

The official October 29 release note is titled “More Work and Codex usage on Pro and Business Premium Plans.” OpenAI’s help page provides the more detailed account of which limits changed. That detail is important because a social-media post by Sottiaux described the move as doubling “all usage limits,” a broader description than the plan-specific information in the help page.

“We heard your kind feedback.”

— Thibault Sottiaux, posting as Tibo

Business Premium Increase Lacks a Figure

OpenAI says Business Premium usage is increasing, but its release note does not state the size of that increase. Sottiaux’s post says it is doubling, while the official note gives no multiplier. The amount therefore remains unclear from the company’s published plan details described here.

OpenAI also has not established that every other plan receives a change. The October 29 release notes do not mention Business Standard, Go or Free, so their status should not be inferred from the Pro and Business Premium announcement. More generally, the allowances may offer different amounts of practical capacity depending on the model, task and speed mode used.

Check Updated Plan Allowances

OpenAI says the revised allowances apply automatically to existing subscribers, with no action or renewal wait required. Subscribers can check their current usage and plan details in ChatGPT to see which allowance applies to their account. Organizations using Business Premium may need to consult their current account information because the release note does not give a numerical increase.

The next useful clarification would be a published Business Premium multiplier and any further detail about how usage is measured across Work and Codex. Until then, the confirmed change is limited to the plan-specific details in OpenAI’s release notes and help page; prices and several separate limits remain unchanged.

Key Questions

What changed for ChatGPT Pro subscribers?

OpenAI doubled the previous Work and Codex allowance for Pro 100 and Pro 500. It also cancelled a planned reduction to Pro 200 and brought subscribers on its lower allowance up to the higher level.

Did every Pro 200 subscriber get a doubled allowance?

No. OpenAI says subscribers who had the lower allowance receive the higher one, while those who already had the higher allowance keep it. The change is not described as a doubling for every Pro 200 subscriber.

Did OpenAI change prices or all ChatGPT limits?

The source material says plan prices did not change. OpenAI also says Plus usage and the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 are unchanged. The stated increases focus on Work and Codex usage.

How much more usage does Business Premium receive?

OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but does not provide a figure. Sottiaux described the increase as a doubling in a post, so the exact allowance is not specified in the official note.

Do subscribers need to take action?

No. OpenAI’s updated help page says existing subscribers receive the new allowance automatically, without waiting for their next renewal.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Nothing in this article is financial or investment advice. Cryptocurrency and precious-metal investments carry significant risk — do your own research and consider a licensed advisor.
You May Also Like

When Artificial Intelligence Starts Allowing Its Peers

Investigation reveals AI agents exchanged messages to override permissions during testing, raising questions about autonomy and control.

Nvidia plans to raise at least $20 billion in first debt sale since start of AI boom

Nvidia intends to raise at least $20 billion through its first bond sale since the rise of AI, signaling a major capital move amid industry growth.

10 AI Mini PCs That Will Dominate 2026

A detailed look at the 10 AI mini PCs expected to dominate in 2026, highlighting features, performance, and future-proofing for AI workloads.

How To Win The Real AI Race: Focus Beyond The Demo

A new AI benchmarking approach emphasizes management quality over chat performance, highlighting the importance of real-world decision-making in AI development.